It’s all downhill from here

I am the first person to admit that I am completely pathetic when I am sick. I become childlike and demanding and miserable. The world has to revolve around me more than usual because as far as I can tell, I’m dying. And people should feel sorry for me.

Virus
This is an attempt to make a virus look cute. Do not be fooled.

In fact, I had a long argument with The American about why I shouldn’t be left at home alone today, because I need someone to take care of me, because I am dying. That didn’t work. So, now I am home alone and feeling very sorry for myself. And any desire that The American had about having children one day has been cured.

Sick in Bed
Bed rest: not as much fun as it is in the movies.

Today I realised that after turning 25 your body goes backwards.

Although I passed the quarter century milestone some time ago, I have noticed how things just aren’t the same anymore. I don’t bounce back the way I used to.

I have been very sick twice in the past six months. Both times involved a lot of coughing and sneezing and me making puppy dog eyes at anyone who would give me attention. Before I turned 25 I wouldn’t even catch a cold. Now I need bed rest and a prescription from a medical practitioner.

Another horrible truth is the severity of hangovers in your mid-twenties. Back at university I would drink to excess and often. And I would be able to go to class and function normally the next day (except for the one day I fell asleep on my German professor) and celebrate with more beer and shooters once the sun went down (I believe I did that after the incident with the professor).

Now, if I mix my drinks or have one beer too many, I am out of action for two days. When I was 18 I would wake up, say ‘ouch’, rub the sleep out of my eyes and continue with my youthful living. Now, I wake up, swear at everything and then I swear a little more as it gets worse.

There is no cure, but I did enjoy the movie

I tried drinking a lot of water between drinks at a party once. The only thing this lead to was me spending most of the evening in the little girls room and not getting drunk at all. That was for my 26th birthday…

Back in the day I could party until 2am. Now I’m lucky if I can stay awake past 9pm. I suppose I’m not waking up at midday anymore, but the ability to stay awake would be nice. I have become a narcoleptic party pooper.

Disco
This is just a memory

I know it’s true and I have made peace with the fact that it’s all a lumpy downhill from here.

25
The view from just over 25 isn't nearly as pretty
It’s all downhill from here

8 thoughts on “It’s all downhill from here

  1. The American says:

    Although I’m very sorry I couldn’t stay home to take care of your sad little self today, you are really quite hilarious when you put your pen to paper (or rather your snotty fingers to keyboard). I

    1. My fingers aren’t snotty. The doctor told me to wash my hands often. But I am dying and I think it’s important that you come home. It’s my only hope for survival.

  2. Aww, bless you, sweetie! But wait ’til you hit your forties – it takes weeks to get over a hangover, and from the minute you get up in the morning, you’re counting the hours ’til you can crawl back to bed!

    Hope you’re feeling better soon, and The American spoils you rotten tonight! 🙂

    1. The American is not being very affectionate. Something about working and germs.

      I can’t even imagine my forties. That is something to worry about when I am almost there. Tight now I’m trying to survive my disease.

      So, to answer your question, yes, I am a big baby.

  3. Nick Armstrong says:

    Hahahahahahahaha – bollocks angel! 🙂 Getting old is optional. Yes – our bodies may slowly age – growing old is a mental choice…

    And yes – the phyiscal aging of our bodies is also hugely influenced by our thoughts… 🙂

    If one keeps thinking one is old/ growing old – yes – one will get old, and much quicker so than he/she who doesn’t think as such… 🙂 Age really truly is a number… Our thoughts/thinking create our reality – in every sense – so should we think we ‘cannot’ anymore – then yes – your body will listen and follow ‘suit’…

    Like that 70 year-old granny they interviewed on CNN last year – she’s 70 and is a regular DJ at one of Paris’ top clubs – and loving it! 🙂 When asked whether she would ever stop, she replied (words to the effect of): “No – why should I – as long as I have energy in these legs – why should I?” LEGEND baby! 🙂

    And – there-in lies the rub… If you’re doing what you love, loving all that you do – or at least have that positive energy in thought and attitude – I assure you – you will feel a much younger ‘you’… Our thoughts and thinking play such a role in longevity in youth and youthful energy… 🙂

    Love You, who You are, and your life; be true to You; don’t wish upon another’s ‘star’; be infinitely grateful for everything in your Life (the Universal Law of Gratitude) – and believe you me – watch how ‘young’ you become again… 🙂

    Take care…and ENJOY! 🙂

      1. Nick Armstrong says:

        Hahahahahahahaha – I’m a happy boy Tiny… 🙂 Have a wicked weekend boys and girls – just ENJOY whatever you do/ get up to…! Lol! 😉 xx

Leave a Reply

