Tomato

The American doesn’t eat tomatoes. Not on pizza, not in pasta, no tomato sauce – nothing. Anything red results in nose wrinkling and the look of a cornered animal about to be shot and skinned. Not even my irresistible puppy-face can convince otherwise.

And this is a bit of a problem in our relationship. Because I love them. And it’s about the only fruit that I will actually eat. And since the American doesn’t eat much meat, the dinners I can make are limited. As far as I am concerned, all the tastiest vegetarian meals contain tomato.

The American subscribes to my blog (because it’s important to know what I do on the internet) and will read this, so Dear American (and all other tomato haters), please consider the below.

A tomato is a pretty thing.

A solitary tomato looking good on its own

It’s red and shiny and looks great in a crowd.

Tomato and friends - still very attractive

It looks like a marijuana plant without the fruit.

Even the pre-tomato is good looking

It’s versatile in its uses.

Even dehydrated it still manages to be attractive

It contains vitamins and prevents scurvy. I read somewhere that it increases the natural sun defence of human skin. And I know people who drink it as a hangover cure. It contains anti-oxidant goodness. So combined with the sun protection is likely the fountain of youth, if only people would consume more of it.

Tomato

11 thoughts on “Tomato

  1. The American says:

    Dear Lee,

    Thank you for the heartfelt letter listing the benefits of tomatos. Although I do appreciate the aesthetic benefits of a tomato (or group of tomatos), as you can predict, my nose did wrinkle slightly at the thought of an increased tomato diet. However, I am willing to concede that there might be certain health benefits to the prospect, and would be amenable to including a few additional tomato dishes in our monthly menu.

    Sincerely,
    The American

    1. Dear American,

      This is a blog post and not a letter. Please stay up to date with the Internet and various means of communication.

      We plan our meals weekly, not monthly. I cannot survive on a few portions of tomato a month. It’s the way we’ll stay young afterall.

      Kind regards Lee

  2. IMHO the real test of how incongruous someone’s eating habits are consists of whether or not they will eat both tomato sauce (catsup, ketchup, whatever you want to call it) AND tomatoes. My former partner drowned everything in tomato sauce but refused to eat tomatoes. I could not comprehend his logic. Admittedly I didn’t try too hard though!
    Lycopene – that’s the fountain of youth stuff in tomatoes. The silver lining to people being tomato haters is that there is more lycopene in the world for the rest of us. Conceivably tomato lovers may therefore live longer…and maybe even gain super powers and world domination but shh don’t tell anyone about our secret weapon!

  3. Hi,

    I am not an American but English bod living in Portugal. I love tomatoes both to eat and grow, love your humour and if you would still like a blogging buddy pop over and say hello. If you check out my blogroll you will see all my blogging buddies who I follow and support. We have formed a great network and all support each other. I notice you dont have a blogroll…don’t you love anyone? 😦

    So figure you must be pretty lonely …

    Look forward to reading your blog 🙂
    PiP

  4. I love your stuff. You write wonderfully, you are sharp and witty and insightful, and see almost everything as it really is. But those dehydrated tomatoes are not attractive. Sorry. I know they taste great, but they are not attractive. You are spot on with everything else though…

  5. You’re so interesting! I do not believe I have read a single thing like that before.
    So great to find someone with genuine thoughts on this subject.
    Seriously.. thank you for starting this up.
    This web site is something that is required on the internet, someone with a little originality!

  6. Heya i’m for the first time here. I found this board and I find It
    truly useful & it helped me out a lot. I hope to give something back and help others like
    you aided me.

Leave a Reply

